THE 10 BEST BOOKS TO ADD TO YOUR MUST-READ LIST (IN AUSTRALIA 2022)

Pumpkin spice lattes and wood-scented candles and cozy knits, oh my! It’s sweater weather, and curling up with a good book has never looked so good. Take advantage of that reading nook or extra comfy spot on the couch and curl up with a hot drink and even hotter reads.

Let’s continue to support our local book haunts and buy from Black, brown, and LGBTQ+-owned small bookstores. Bookshop.org, indiebound.org, or Libro.fm are great places to start when looking for small, indie stores.

From a cosplay gone viral that leads to a too-good to be true romance with a star, to a woman destined to live forever without being remembered, to a Lovecraft Country-style horror perfect for Halloween reading, these are the best books to read in October.

1. ‘The Invisible Life of Addie Larue’ by V. E. Schwab

The Invisible Life of Addie Larue

Check Price

Would you want to live indefinitely if no one knew who you were? In this epic story that spans hundreds of years, we follow Addie, who, as a result of a desperate Faustian bargain, becomes both immortal and doomed to obscurity – at least until three centuries later, when she encounters a man who recognizes her and recalls her name.

V. E. Schwab’s novel is a hauntingly haunting retelling of the classic tale of Peter Pan. It is also a genre-bending narrative of self-discovery, freedom, and the legacy we leave behind.

 

2. ‘Spoiler Alert’ by Olivia Dade

Check Price

April is a God of the Gate fanfic and cosplay queen who is infatuated with the program God of the Gate. She has kept her interests hidden from the public eye by never disclosing her true identity or exposing her face in public.

Marcus, the star of this fantasy show, is well-versed in the art of concealment. He’s been writing fanfiction about his program for years, in total violation of the terms of his contract. March, when she finally admits to being a cosplayer on Twitter, her plus-sized interpretation of the show’s heroine goes viral, and Marcus himself approaches her to ask her out to spite the detractors. However, when Marcus discovers that April is also his closest online fanfic buddy, he finds it increasingly difficult to maintain his anonymity while dealing with their growing affinity to one another.

The worlds of fan fiction, fantasy, and real life meet in this debut novel about friends who become lovers with a twist.

 

3. ‘What Would Frida Do?: A Guide to Living Boldly’ by Arianna Davis

What Would Frida Do?: A Guide to Living Boldly

Check Price

What Would Frida Do is Arianna Davis’ first feature film, and it is a poignant ode to Frida Kahlo, womanhood, and Latinidad. Arianna Davis is the digital director for Oprah Magazine.

The stories told in each chapter are taken from Frida’s life, and Davis seamlessly blends biography with manifesto, history with guidebook, and not only gives readers a glimpse into all of the ways in which Frida lived fearlessly and passionately, but also how we can model our own lives after her bravery and determination.

 

4. ‘Ring Shout’ by P. Djèlí Clark

Ring Shout

Check Price

With macabre humor and biting satire, P. Djèl Clark’s novella Ring Shout is perfect for fans of Lovecraft Country and The Nickel Boys. It’s a gorgeous, dark, twisted fantasy laced with macabre humor and biting critique.

After watching the film Birth of a Nation, the Ku Klux Klan’s membership skyrockets, and their aspirations and appetite for destruction become even more hideous and beastly than we could have believed possible.

In their path, only Maryse Boudreaux and her band of soldiers stand in their way, and as she employs all of the resources at her disposal to drive the Klan back into hell, another darkness threatens to ruin all of the progress she’s made to this point.

Ring Shout is the pulpy fiction we’ve been needing, thanks to a fierce protagonist you can root for and a unique perspective on horror and mythology that makes it stand out from the crowd.

 

5. ‘Daughters of Jubilation’ by Kara Lee Corthon

Check Price

Menstruation is frequently associated with the transition from girlhood to femininity. Nevertheless, when Evalene reaches adolescence, she is not only blessed with her first blood, but she is also endowed with magical skills that have been passed down through her family since enslavement began.

As far as Evvie is concerned, magic is just another aspect of growing up about which she has no notion what to make of it. That is, until a violent man arrives in town and threatens her family’s well-being as well as her own.

This latest work by Corthon includes everything that makes for a great coming-of-age story: magic, history, sorrow, love, and bravery. It is a gripping addition to the genre of coming-of-age stories.

 

6. ‘Tools of Engagement: A Novel (Hot & Hammered)’ by Tessa Bailey

Check Price

Getting everything absolutely right is something Bethany is passionate about. A constant presence in her mind is her nervousness, and she is terrified that anyone will perceive her as less than flawlessly composed. Wes Daniels, a 20-something “too-young-for-her” contractor who she completely despises, is hired to work on her project when she grows tired of being the underdog in her family’s house-flipping business. Right.

How long can Bethany maintain her beautiful front in the face of Wes’ lustful mocking and unexpectedly tender concern? Will she be able to let go of her ideal exterior long enough to flip the perfect house and find the right man? Tessa Bailey’s Heated and Hammered series continues with this hot and heavy romance between foes that will leave you feeling hot and heavy.

 

7. ‘Transcendent Kingdom’ by Yaa Gyasi

Check Price

After exploring previously addressed issues of generational inheritance and legacy via the lens of the main character Gifty’s Ph.D. research into her family’s history of mental illness and addiction, Yaa Gyasi expands on those topics in her novel The Gifty Diaries.

As much as Gifty yearns for the firm comfort of scientific reality, she also yearns for the religion of her youth, and the conflicting aspirations — and boundaries — of both religious and scientific views. Gyasi creates a beautiful story that is a suitable sequel to her debut novel, Faith, Love, Loneliness, and Family.

 

8. ‘When No One Is Watching’ by Alyssa Cole

Check Price

When No One Is Watching, the first thriller from best-selling romance author Alyssa Cole, is released.

As a result of her own experiences with gentrification in New York City, Cole effectively demonstrates the character development she is well-known for while incorporating themes of paranoia, untrustworthy narration, racism, and hidden histories. Get Out meets The Woman in the Window in this Alfred Hitchcockian tale with a twist, which is sure to be both terrifying and cerebral in its execution.

 

9. ‘The Death of Vivek Oji’ by Akwaeki Emezi

Check Price

We’ll begin at the very end. Vivek was introduced to them through their death, which was sent to their home by a friend of the family. The story then takes us back to the beginning, where we are introduced to Vivek as a kind yet mysterious child, and we follow them through adolescence and maturity alongside them.

Vivek begins to be more human to us as a result of their interactions, with the narration switching quickly between Vivek’s voice and the voices of their relatives and friends.

But who we are and how we appear to others are not necessarily the same, as Emezi expertly addresses themes of self discovery, expectations, sexuality, tradition, and found family before bringing the story to a heartbreaking close with the death of a young man who was taken far too soon.

 

10. ‘You Had Me at Hola’ by Alex Daria

Check Price

Jasmine Lin Rodriguez has just been cast as the lead in the most talked-about and eagerly anticipated telenovela of the year. Jasmine Lin Rodriguez has also just found herself unemployed.

To ensure that she does not lose sight of the former, she and her girlfriends come up with the “Leading Lady” plan, which is a collection of guidelines designed to keep her focused on the right things. That is, until her co-star, played by the mysterious Ashton Suarez, is recast at the last minute, and she begins to doubt her decision when their slow-burn on-set chemistry reaches a fever pitch off camera.

In this show within a book format, the voices of Jasmine and Ashton’s onscreen characters are alternated with those of their “actual lives.” This show within a book format should appeal to fans of traditional telenovelas and comedic series such as Jane the Virgin.

 

The top ten best books to add your must-read list that we selected are listed above. If you are interested in any of the products, please click on the link provided below to place an order for that product. Thank you for taking the time to read this!

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.